Women’s College World Series – Vote to determine ESPN’s greatest all-time college softball team


While the Road to the Women’s College World Series was cancelled in March due to the coronavirus pandemic, ESPN still wants to celebrate the softball postseason that would have been.

So, over the next two weeks, we are giving fans the chance to vote to determine ESPN’s Greatest All-Time Softball Team, presented by 7Innings Podcast.

We are going position by position to determine the greatest all-time team. Voting begins Tuesday and continues through June 6. Each position’s poll will remain open for three days before votes are tallied. ESPNU and the ESPN App will air games highlighting players included in that day’s voting, culminating with a televised 7Innings reveal show.

Second base



Beth Mowins, Amanda Scarborough and Holly Rowe debate which of the eight finalists should make the cut for ESPN’s greatest all-time softball team.

The only player in Division I history with 300 hits, 300 runs scored and 300 RBIs was a second baseman. But is she the greatest one of them all? Voting begins Thursday and lasts for three days.

Jenny Dalton — Arizona (1993-96)

Dalton’s 328 RBIs is still the most in Division I history, and her 293 runs scored is second only to Sierra Romero. She is the only player to score 100 runs in a season (1995) and is one of only four players in Division I history to record at least 100 RBIs in a season (109 in 1996). Oh, and three WCWS titles with Arizona helps her résumé, too.

Hannah Flippen — Utah (2014-17)

Flippen was Utah’s first four-time All-Pac-12 honoree, and it’s easy to see why. She finished her career with a .392 batting average, 263 hits and 197 runs scored, all the most in program history. She was named Pac-12 Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons (2016-17) as well.

Alex Hugo — Kansas (2013), Georgia (2014-16)

Hugo was a two-time NFCA All-American in her three seasons at Georgia after transferring from Kansas. She led all Division I hitters with 25 home runs in 2014 and slugged .779 in her final three seasons, the third highest in SEC history.

Nina Lindenberg — Fresno State (1996-98)

Lindenberg is best remembered for her solo home run in the sixth inning of the 1998 national championship game that not only ended Arizona’s stretch of 52 consecutive scoreless innings, but helped give Fresno State its first and only WCWS title. She was a three-time All-American who finished her career with a .440 batting average.

Sara Pickering — Washington (1994-97)

Pickering, a two-time NFCA first-team All-American, holds the Division I doubles record (91) and ranks first in Washington history with 318 hits. She was named to the All-Pac-10 first team three times.

Sierra Romero — Michigan (2013-16)

Romero holds the Division I record with 302 runs scored and 11 — yes, 11 — grand slams. She was Michigan’s first four-time All-American, finishing her career with a .441 batting average, 82 home runs and 304 RBIs. She is the only Division I player with 300 hits, 300 runs scored and 300 RBIs.

Julie Smith — Texas A&M (1987), Fresno State (1990-91)

Smith was a three-time NFCA All-American who helped Texas A&M win the 1987 national championship. She then transferred to Fresno State, where she helped the Bulldogs to a runner-up finish in 1990. In 1990, she led all players with 55 runs scored and shared the hit crown (93) as well.

Kelsey Stewart — Florida (2013-16)

Stewart is a Florida legend. A two-time NFCA first-team All-American, she helped the Gators win two national championships and finished her career as the program hits leader (357).

First base



Michele Smith, Beth Mowins and Jessica Mendoza all give their thoughts on who they think is the greatest softball first baseman of all time.

The greatest first basemen in NCAA softball history feature some of the most prolific hitters of all time. Voting begins Wednesday and lasts for three days.




ESPN’s Beth Mowins, Jen Schroeder and Michele Smith break down which of the eight finalists should make the cut for ESPN’s greatest all-time softball team.

The Pac-12 produced five of the eight greatest catchers we have ever seen, but the decision is not easy. Here are the eight finalists, as voting begins Tuesday and lasts for three days.

2020-05-29 00:27:19

Read more from source here…