September 19, 2021

Politics & News

Politics and Commentary News Aggregator

Corey Kluber of the Yankees throws the 6th MLB no-hitter in 2021 — and it’s the 2nd within the last 24 hours

2 min read
Latest Commentary Online Magazine

Latest Commentary delivers political news and commentary articles.

Corey Kluber of the New York Yankees was the latest to accomplish the feat, against the Texas Rangers in Arlington on Wednesday. The Yankees won 2-0, with a lone walk costing Kluber a perfect game.

“It was a lot of fun,” Kluber said afterward. “It was a special night, I’ve never been part of one, witnessed one, let alone thrown one,” adding that he did not begin thinking about the possible no-hitter until the sixth inning and wasn’t “all-in” on the thought until the ninth.

Kluber is the first Yankee to toss a no-hitter since David Cone pitched a perfect game against the Montreal Expos in 1999, according to the team.

Kluber, third from right, celebrates with teammates after completing a no-hitter Wednesday.
Kluber is a two-time American League Cy Young winner and the no-hitter capped a career comeback. A longtime Cleveland Indian until moving to Texas, he pitched in only one game last season for the Rangers due to injury before joining the Yankees.
Wednesday’s no-hitter was the sixth tossed in the 2021 MLB season. The record for most no-hitters thrown in a given year is eight in 1884. The most no-hitters in any modern-era season since 1900 is seven, happening in 1990, 1991, 2012 and 2015, according to Major League Baseball.

Madison Bumgarner of the Arizona Diamondbacks also no-hit the Atlanta Braves in April, yet the performance did not count as an official no-hitter because the game was shortened to seven innings for a doubleheader that day.

Less than 24 hours earlier, on Tuesday night, Detroit Tigers pitcher Spencer Turnbull threw a no-hitter in Seattle against the Mariners.

Other teams around the league may be looking ahead at their schedules, as the six official no-hitters tossed this season have been against three teams: The Rangers (twice), the Mariners (twice) and the Indians (twice). No team has ever been no-hit three times in the same season.

2021-05-20 01:23:36

All news and articles are copyrighted to the respective authors and/or News Broadcasters. LC is an independent Online News Aggregator

Read more from original source here…

Leave a Reply

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.